June 15, 2024

India: Narendra Modi sworn in for third term


Narendra Modi has officially assumed office for a third term as India’s Prime Minister, following a surprising election outcome that forced him to depend on coalition allies.

Modi, accompanied by key officials from his Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and coalition partners, took the oath of office at a ceremonial event held at the presidential palace.

He vowed to “bear true allegiance to the constitution of India,” underscoring his commitment to govern amidst new political dynamics.

Despite ruling outright for the past decade, the BJP’s performance fell short of expectations, leading Modi into swift negotiations with the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to secure a governing majority. This 15-member coalition became essential in the formation of his government.

As Modi took his oath, honour guards lined the palace steps and a military brass band played, setting a grand stage for the ceremony. Modi was followed by top BJP figures Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, and Nitin Gadkari, signaling potential continuity in their respective roles in defense, interior, and transport.

The full cabinet lineup remains under wraps, with coalition partners leveraging their support for significant concessions. Modi described recent days as “very busy,” focusing on government formation preparations in a blog post ahead of the ceremony.

The event drew thousands, including BJP loyalists, South Asian leaders, Bollywood star Shahrukh Khan, and influential tycoons Gautam Adani and Mukesh Ambani, reflecting the widespread support and high stakes of Modi’s third term.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *