Oshoala, Ajibade race to glory, lead Super Falcons in 2023 CAF Awards

In a thrilling lineup of talent, seven Super Falcons players, spearheaded by the formidable duo Asisat Oshoala and Rasheedat Ajibade, have clinched coveted nominations for the highly anticipated Women’s Player of the Year award at the upcoming 2023 CAF Awards, scheduled to unfold its grandeur in Morocco this December.

The announcement, made by the African football governing body on Tuesday, showcased a formidable 30-woman shortlist for the prestigious category.

Nigeria proudly dominates with seven players standing tall among a diverse group of nominees hailing from various corners of the continent.

As the curtains rise for the awards ceremony, the spotlight inevitably turns to Asisat Oshoala, a five-time winner of the prestigious title.

Her eyes set on an unprecedented three-peat, Oshoala’s remarkable achievements include clinching the Women’s Champions League, the league title, and the Super Cup during the scrutinized period.

Joining Oshoala on the illustrious shortlist is Atletico Madrid star Rasheedat Ajibade, adding to the impressive Nigerian contingent featuring goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, whose stellar performance at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup has not gone unnoticed.

The squad further boasts the defensive prowess of Osinachi Ohale, the dynamic Toni Payne, the skilled Uchenna Kanu, and the tenacious Christy Ucheibe.

The competition is fierce, with South Africa’s Thembi Kgatlana, Zambia’s Barbara Banda, and Morocco’s Anissa Lahmari, Fatima Tagnaout, Ghizlaine Chebbak, Ibtissam Jraidi, and Khadija Er-Rmichi also vying for the coveted accolade.

In the realm of other honors, Chiamaka Nnadozie stakes her claim for the ‘Goalkeeper of the Year’ award, while Deborah Abiodun, Oluwatosin Dimeji, and Opeyemi Ajakaye find themselves in the limelight as contenders for the ‘Young Player of the Year’ category.

Adding to the excitement, Super Falcons coach Randy Waldrum earns a well-deserved nomination in the fiercely competitive ‘Coach of the Year’ category, alongside South Africa’s Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis.

Nigeria itself is in the running for the ‘Women’s National Team of the Year’, promising a night of nail-biting anticipation and celebration for football enthusiasts worldwide.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *