Inaugural Africa youth tourism festival draws 10 nations

The inaugural Africa Youth Tourism Festival is set to launch with participation from 10 countries, including Rwanda, Kenya, Botswana, and Ghana, among others, according to organizer Mr. Ayo Omotosho.

Scheduled to take place from April 16 to April 20 at Lagos’s iconic Tafawa Balewa Square, the festival aims to empower African youth through tourism activities, promoting self-reliance and financial independence.

Omotosho emphasized that the festival’s theme, “Uniting African Youth for Sustainable Tourism Agenda,” underscores the event’s mission to engage young Africans in tourism-related endeavors. The five-day festival promises a diverse program featuring conferences, exhibitions, musical performances, cultural displays, and more.

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State and Minister of Tourism Lola Ade-John will be recognized during the event for their exceptional contributions to regional tourism growth.

Omotosho highlighted Sanwo-Olu’s commitment to sustainability in tourism, noting the governor’s efforts to enhance infrastructure, security, and cultural promotion in Lagos.

Sanwo-Olu’s administration has notably focused on revitalizing historical sites and monuments across Lagos, showcasing the state’s cultural heritage while attracting tourists and fostering local pride.

The festival’s tribute to Minister Lola Ade-John celebrates her advocacy for youth empowerment in tourism, fostering entrepreneurship, skill development, and leadership opportunities for young Africans.

Commissioner for Tourism, Arts, and Culture in Lagos State, Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka, along with other dignitaries, will also be honored during the festival.

The Africa Youth Tourism Festival marks a significant initiative to harness Africa’s youthful potential in shaping the future of sustainable tourism, underlining Lagos’s emergence as a vibrant cultural and tourism center within Nigeria and across the continent.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *