July 23, 2024
Home » Tinubu re-elected as ECOWAS chairman, pledges continued commitment to democratic values

Tinubu re-elected as ECOWAS chairman, pledges continued commitment to democratic values


President Bola Tinubu has been re-elected as the Chairman of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) during the 65th Ordinary Session of the Authority of Heads of State and Government.

The session, held at the Presidential Villa in Abuja on Sunday, saw the unanimous decision to extend Tinubu’s tenure for another year.

Initially set to conclude his one-year term on Tuesday, Tinubu’s re-election underscores the confidence and trust placed in his leadership by the regional body.

Accepting the renewed mandate, President Tinubu vowed to continue his dedicated service, focusing on upholding democratic values and addressing regional challenges.

“Having accepted this re-election, I will request the collaboration of Bassirou Faye from Senegal and Nigeria’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, Yusuf Tuggar, as special envoys. Their mission will be to engage with our brothers in Mali, Burkina Faso, and Niger, and coordinate with me and the ECOWAS Commission as necessary,” Tinubu stated.

In his acceptance speech, President Tinubu emphasized his commitment to working with other leaders to fortify the democratic structures within the community. “Thank you very much. With the new mandate, I pledge to continue serving with the utmost dedication alongside our great members who are committed to the democratic journey in our region,” Tinubu added.

President Tinubu also announced that Bassirou Faye, President of Senegal, will serve as Special Envoy of the ECOWAS Commission. Faye’s role will involve mediating with the leaders of Mali, Burkina Faso, and Niger—countries that had announced their exit from the community last year. This task will be conducted in conjunction with Nigeria’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, Yusuf Tuggar.

Tinubu’s leadership has been marked by decisive actions, particularly in response to military coups in member states such as Niger, Burkina Faso, Mali, and Guinea. Initially adopting a firm stance against unconstitutional changes of government, he oversaw the imposition of sanctions on these nations. However, the sanctions were later lifted as ECOWAS opted for a more peaceful resolution approach.

One of Tinubu’s notable achievements during his tenure was his pivotal role in ensuring the success of the 2024 Senegalese election by facilitating dialogue between stakeholders, demonstrating his unwavering commitment to promoting democracy in the subregion.

President Tinubu now joins an exclusive group of West African leaders who have served more than one term as ECOWAS Chairman. This distinguished group includes Gnassingbé Eyadéma of Togo (1977–1978 and 1980–1981), Dawda Jawara of The Gambia (1989–1990 and 1991–1992), Muhammadu Buhari of Nigeria (1985 and 2018–2019), and Blaise Compaoré of Burkina Faso (1990–1991 and 2007–2008).

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *