Global leaders gather at 15th Islamic Summit in Gambia to forge unity

The 15th Islamic Summit convened in Banjul, Republic of Gambia on May 4-5, 2024, attracting a diverse assembly of leaders from across the Islamic world.

Representatives from 57 member states, alongside esteemed observers, joined forces to address pressing regional issues and strengthen cooperation amidst geopolitical complexities.

The summit witnessed the participation of high-level delegations, each led by esteemed representatives, including foreign ministers, deputy prime ministers, and heads of state.

Notable attendees included His Highness Prince Faisal bin Farhan Al-Saud of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, President Ismaël Omar Guelleh of the Republic of Djibouti, and President Julius Maada Bio of Sierra Leone, among many others.

Key themes dominating discussions at the summit included the imperative for dialogue and reconciliation in conflict zones such as Yemen, Libya, Sudan, and the Sahel region.

His Excellency Hissein Brahim Taha, Secretary-General of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), stressed the importance of political solutions and mediation to resolve ongoing crises effectively.

Here is the list of leaders and representatives from the 57 countries.

Member State Heads of Delegations

Republic of Azerbaijan: H.E. Mr. Jeyhun Bayramov, Foreign Minister

Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan: Ibrahim Hadita Al Jazi, Minister of State

Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

Republic of Albania

United Arab Emirates: H.E. Sheikh Shakhbout bin Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, Minister of State

Republic of Indonesia: H.E. Mrs. Retno Marsudi, Foreign Minister

Republic of Uzbekistan: H.E. Mr. Nurdinjon Ismailov, Speaker of the Legislative Chamber of the Oliy Majlis

Republic of Uganda: H.E. Likia Nakadama, Third Deputy Prime Minister

Islamic Republic of Iran: H.E. Hossein Amir Abdellahian, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Islamic Republic of Pakistan: H.E. Mohamad Ishaq Dar, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Kingdom of Bahrain: H.E. Nawaf bin Mohamed Almawdah, Minister of Justice and Islamic Affairs

Brunei Darussalam: H.E. Dato Erwyan Pehin Yusof, Minister of Foreign Affairs II

People’s Republic of Bangladesh: H.E. Dr. Muhamad Hasan Mahmud, Foreign Minister

Republic of Benin: H.E. Amb. Adam Bagoudou, Permanent Representative to the OIC

Burkina Faso, H.E. Karamoko Jean Traore, Foreign Minister

Republic of Tajikistan: H.E. Mr. Ismatullah Nasreddine, First Deputy Foreign Minister

Republic of Türkiye: H.E. Hakan Fidan, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Turkmenistan: H.E. Amb. Orazmuhammet Chariyev, Permanent Representative to the OIC

Republic of Chad: H.E. Beounngar David Doudjim, Secretary General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Republic of Togo:

Republic of Tunisia: H.E. Mr. Nabil Ammarr, Foeign Minister

People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria: H.E. Nadhir Larbaoui, Prime Minister
Republic of Djibouti: H.E. Ismaël Omar Guelleh, President

Kingdom of Saudi Arabia: His Highness Prince Faisal bin Farhan Al-Saud, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Republic of Senegal: H.E. Bassirou Diomaye Faye, President

Republic of Sudan: H.E. G. Abdel Fattah al-Burhan Abdelrahman al-Burhan

Syrian Arab Republic (Suspended)
Republic of Suriname

Republic of Sierra Leone: His Excellency Julius Maada Bio, President

Federal Republic of Somalia: H.E. Salih Ahmad Jamea, Deputy Prime Minister

Republic of Iraq: H.E. Dr. Omar Albarzanji
Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Sultanate of Oman: H. E. Dr. Mohamed ben Saeed ben Khalfan Al Maamary, Minister of Islamic Affairs

Republic of Gabon: H.E. Mr. Regis Onanga Ndiyae, Foreign Minister

Republic of The Gambia: H.E. Mr. Adama Barrow, President

Co-operative Republic of Guyana

Republic of Guinea: H. E. Dr. Morissanda Kouyaté, Foreign Minister

Republic of Guinea Bissau: H.E. Mr. Umaro Sissoco Embalo, President

State of Palestine: H.E. Dr. Riyadh Almalki
Special Envoy of the President

Union of the Comoros
Kyrgyz Republic: H.E. Aibek Moldogaziev, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

State of Qatar: H.E. Mr. Sultan bin Saad Almereikhy, Minister of State for Foreign Affairs
Republic of Kazakhstan: H.E. Mr. Alibek Bakayev, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

Republic of Cameroon: H.E. Lejeune Mbella Mbella, Minister of External Relations

Cote D’Ivoire: Tiemoko Meyliet Koné, Vice President

State of Kuwait: H.E. Abdullah AlyehyaM, inister of Foreign Affairs

Republic of Lebanon: H.E. Amb. Fawzi Kabbarah, Permanent Representative to the OIC

State of Libya: H.E. Musa Alkouni, Member of the Presidential Libyan Council

Republic of Maldives: H.E. Dr. Mohamed Shaheem Ali Saeed, Minister of Islamic Affairs

Republic of Mali: H.E. Abdoulaye Diop
Minister of Foreign Affairs

Malaysia: The Honourable Dato’ Seri Utama Haji Mohamad Bin Haji Hasan
Minister of Foreign Affairs

Arab Republic of Egypt:  H.E. Mr. Samih Shukri, Foreign Minister

Kingdom of Morocco: H.E. Ahmad Tawfik
Minister of Awqaf and Islamic Affairs

Islamic Republic of Mauritania: H. E. Mohamed Ould Cheik Ghezouani, President

Republic of Mozambique: H.E. Flimao Joaquim Suaze, Deputy Minister of Justice

Republic of Niger: H.E. Bakary Yaou Sangaré, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Federal Republic of Nigeria: H.E. Yusuf Tuggar, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Republic of Yemen: H.E. Dr. Shae Mohsen Alzandani, Minister of Foreign Affairs


Bosnia and Herzegovina: H.E. Amb. Nerkez Arifovic, Special Envoy of the President

Central African Republic

Russian Federation: H.E. Rustam Minnikhanov, President of the Republic of Tatarstan of the Russian Federation

Kingdom of Thailand

Turkish Cypriot State: H.E. Mr. Ersin Tatar

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *